November reflections

img_2774

It’s that time of year again!

I’m always running from meeting to meeting, rushing to the gym, continually hearing the tapping of my keyboard, and trying to catch my breath. I honestly cannot believe that this semester is almost over, and I’m already freaking out about next semester. In the back of my mind, I’ve been trying to figure out how to make the best out of my time in Victoria. It was almost four years ago that I decided that I wasn’t ready for Ottawa and that I should pack up half of my life and move to the island to try to figure out myself. The Brigitte you may know was not the same Brigitte in 2013. She was younger, naïve, and scared. I always wondered what my life would be like had I decided to stick with my original plan and moved across the country? What if I don’t pursue the same thing that I am seeking now? Will life be better had I moved farther away? The answer is who know? It’s another alternative universe that we will never know for ourselves. Lately, I’ve been thinking: What am I going to do after I graduate? I guess that’s what everyone is thinking about, especially around my age. We are all going through the next chapter of our lives, and we are all terrified. If you may recall in one of my previous blog posts, I mentioned that I was going through a rough time earlier this year. This made me want to be back home in Vancouver and never wanted to come back to the island. I couldn’t do that to myself; I got 19 months until I walk across that stage and receive one of the most expensive paper I will ever receive in my life. I couldn’t disappoint my parents, my brother, my friends or myself. After countless phone calls with my close friends, sleepless nights, late night drives, a couple of anxiety attacks and multiple “you’re going to be okay” later, I have decided to drop every single ounce of negative energy, and finish this chapter of my life. I’m not going to lie before this school year started, all I wanted to do is drop everything was travel and party. Those long days where I wake up in the morning, go downstairs to grab a coffee and head out the door in the Jeep to a place where I have never been to before. I wanted to forget about every bad thing that has ever happened to me, for all the people who decide to hurt me emotionally and mentally. Subscribing to the negativity has affected my daily life, and especially during the first days of the semester. I have realized that there is so much more through these moments in life. You can’t lock yourself in your room forever, you can’t hide from your friends, you cannot just waste your life away.

I believe that things happen for a reason and that you become a stronger person through life experiences. The individuals who have made an adverse impact on my life, are no longer in my life anymore. You have to surround yourself with the beautiful people you call as friends. Not just any friends, the friends that have been there for you since the very beginning, the ones who never gave up on you, the ones who have been there every step of the way. Not only I realized who the #1 people were, but I can also be at peace knowing that no matter what happens, these friends will always be there for me no matter what. To my friends who are reading this right now; (you know who you are!) from the bottom of my heart, I cannot express my gratitude, appreciation and my love for you. No words cannot express how blessed I am to have you in my life. What gets me up in the morning is the rush of energy to see you guys on a daily basis, the late nights at school to the weekend shenanigans, to the shows and concerts, and our road trips have put a smile on my face because I got to spend the time with you. Not only you have been there from the very beginning, I feel that you will be apart of my life for many years to come. The only reason why I am in town now is because of you guys, always giving me hope that I will make it through the next 19 months, and know that I will be walking across that stage with you.

I cannot stress how important it is to keep yourself busy. There have been moments where I tell myself that I need to stop wasting time, get out of the house and keep yourself busy. I feel that now that I have made some commitments, that I will be able to make the best out of my time in Victoria. Who knows if I decide to move across the country or move back to Vancouver after I graduate. One thing is for certain, my love for travel and living an active lifestyle will be the backbone of why I decide to get out of bed every single morning.

I haven’t been able to update this for a while, but I have changed my blog name to Bonjour B. The URL has been taken but I am most likely going to buy a domain name and keep this blog going. As for my Vlogging days, I haven’t had the time to edit the footage and I promise that I will do a better job in the video department. As I am finishing up my semester, I will try my very best to create more content.

As always, if you have any suggestions or comments, leave it in the comment section below. Please follow my social media sites. Snapchat: hanktothedank Twitter and Instagram: @brigittemegan and Tumblr http://forevercanucks.tumblr.com and Pinterest http://pinterest.com/brigittemegan

I do tend to use  Snapchat (hanktothedank) and instagram (brigittemegan), I do post quite frequently between these two social media platforms. So you better be following! I promise you that my snapchat is on fire and you’ll love my stories!

Until next time, catch you on the flip side.

PS Live life on the wild side!

Brigitte.

Leave a Reply

